TFG Logo


IPL   /   More...   /   Mumbai Indians   /   Sunrisers Hyderabad   /   Cricket   /  

Dhawan is India A captain against Bangladesh, Chand to lead ODI side

INDIA OPENER Shikhar Dhawan is set to lead the India A squad in a three-day match against Bangladesh A in September. Unmukt Chand will be captaining the one-day squad.

Dhawan had been ruled out of the second and third Test in Sri Lanka, after he fractured his right hand during the first Test at Galle. The southpaw will be itching to get some match practice before taking on the South Africans.

Also making his place in the squad is fast bowler Varun Aaron, who was left out after the first Test. This will be his chance to put up an improved performance.

Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja has also been included after being out of contention from both, Tests and ODIs for a long time. If Jadeja manages to impress with his all-round abilities, he could very well make the third spinner’s spot his own.

Karnataka’s young sensation Karun Nair had a fruitful association with the A team against South Africa A. His match-saving hundred earned him an India call-up, though he is yet to make his international debut. Nair is part of both, the three-day and one-day sides.

Delhi batsman Unmukt Chand will be leading the one-day side with the likes of Suresh Raina, Dhawal Kulkarni, Kedar Jadhav in the team. This will be a good opportunity for Raina, who is the only India regular in the squad. Legspinner Karn Sharma is back, and so are two other impressive spinners, Kuldeep Yadav and Jayant Yadav. They will be eager to grab this chance with both hands.

The three one-dayers will be played on September 16, 18 and 20 in Bangalore. The three-day game will be played from September 27 to 29 at the same venue. Current Ranji champions, Karnataka will also be playing against Bangladesh A from September 22 to 24 in Mysore.

Three-day squad: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Abhinav Mukund, Karun Nair, Shreyas Iyer, Baba Aparajith, Naman Ojha, Jayant Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Shreyas Gopal, Abhimanyu Mithun, Varun Aaron, Ishwar Pandey, Sheldon Jackson

One-day squad: Unmukt Chand (capt), Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, Sanju Samson, Karun Nair, Kuldeep Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Karn Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, S Aravind, Dhawal Kulkarni, Rush Kalaria, Gurkeerat Singh Mann

Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.